**Warning -About Go Daddy Websites

“Cutting my own ear off, is a close second, to talking to a CSR.” -wrongwaytruth

So, I will admit, when it comes to something that I don’t really know how to do, I will stick it at the bottom of the to-do stack.  Like setting up a website.  I do not know how to set up a website.  However, the gleaming prospect of it being so easy to set up by just dragging and dropping, really got me excited!  Lets rewind to about 2 years ago…

Being a new business owner, all I really knew was, I wanted a fancy email with my businesses name on it.  I didn’t have much use for a website, they are a little intimidating, but after calling in to Go Daddy and speaking with their customer service rep, my mind was eased.  “Drag and Drop”, they say.  “So Easy”, they say… I paid the money, which I might add, was a great deal for the first year, and left the conversation Super excited to be on my way to Business Owner Website Awesomeness!!  Or so I thought for about five minutes, until I logged in to the Website Builder. What a confusing, option overloading, fucking shoot me in the head and end my misery now, mess.  I logged out.  Promised myself I would return after clearing my head, and walked away…All I really needed was my email anyway, right?  First year, great deal, loved my fancy email with my business name on it so much, I totally forgot about the Damn website.

Year two comes before I know it, and my credit card is auto charged by Go Daddy for 128.00.  Definitely not the deal I received last year, and here I am, having never even set the website up.  I call Go Daddy, the phone recording proceeds to tell me my wait time could be as long as 45 min.  I hang up.  I’ll call later.  6 months later, yeah I’m always right on the ball, I call in and finally talk to a very nice Lady rep.  I explain that I have never even set this website up and I really need to cancel it before I am auto charged again.  I also explain to her, all I really wanted was an email for my domain name, but last time I spoke to someone, I was lured in by the glory of Drag-n-Drop Websites.  She says, “No problem at all.  It looks like you would have a credit of about 59.00.  I can’t refund your credit card, but I can apply it to your account.  An email is around 15.00 a year, so it looks like you could keep it for 3 years and you will still have an in store credit with us for 14.00 and some change.”  “Perfect!”, I say feeling like I have finally gotten what I had bargained for ( not that 128.00 for email is a bargain)!  She helps me log in to my account, because a customer number is required and so convenient to remember, and walks me through the steps of canceling my website.  All done, I thank her profusely, and go on my way.  That next Monday, I log in to my email, and it is Gone!!!

I figured I must’ve unchecked the wrong box while she was walking me through it.  When it comes to assigning blame, I always start with myself.  As you may have figured I am a lot of things, but a computer expert I am not.

I’m going to have to call back…Shit!  So then, I didn’t call.  Why?  Please refer to the quote at the top of the page.

I resumed use of my trusty old free Yahoo email, and stuck my head in the sand…my bad.

Until one fine Spring afternoon. I needed to place an order to a company that I had ordered the same stuff from previously, and the old receipt I needed to reference, was in my Go Daddy email.  I needed to make that call and figure out where I had gone wrong when I shut down my website and lost my email.  I assumed now would be as good a time as any to get a hold of Go Daddy and fix this issue, kill two birds with one stone if you will.

I proceeded to talk to a nice Gentleman who informed me, that I wasn’t going to get my email back. No way, No how (where’s my god damn ruby slippers, I wanna go home)!  Seems the problem is, my email is tied to my website. I was greatly misinformed by the previous Lady representative and had paid for 3 years of a Domain name and not an Email.  “Exactly what the Fuck am I going to use the Domain name for if I don’t have an Email or a Website?”  For you computer savvy users out there, please excuse my ignorance.

To which I was informed, “Oh, we have a great deal on Email programs right now.  Only 36.00 for the year.”  Yeah, sounds about right, fuck me over then up-sell me.

I’m done with companies that give you great deals at first and then file your credit card on record to auto-charge you exhorbinate fees, to not give you a genuine refund or credit, and then very brazenly, try to sell you something else.

So I started a Blog.  Fool me once, shame on you, Fool me twice, Go Fuck Yourself!

“Shame on you Go Daddy”  -wrongwaytruth

Leave a comment